The Iranian Interior Ministry has released the final list of candidates qualified to run in the presidential election on 19 May 2017. Here is a brief profile of the candidates. 

The incumbent President Hassan Rouhani: Member; the Expediency Council and Assembly of Experts. [online sources]

Seyyed Ebrahim Raeisi: Key challenger to Rouhani. Chief Custodian of Astan Quds Razavi; Attorney General of Iran’s Administrative Court of Justice.

Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf: Former Commander of Iran’s Islamic Revolution Guards Corps Air Force.

Es’Haq Jahangiri: First Vice President in Rouhani’s government and Former Governor Isfahan Province.

Mostafa Aqa- Mirsalim: Member; Expediency Council. Senior Aide to Former President Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khameini.


Mostafa Hashemi – Taba: Vice President under former Presidents Hashemi Rafsanjani & Mohammad Khatami.

Former President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad was disqualified by Iran’s Guardian Council.